MCSD Congratulates our 2018 Crystal Apple Award Winners!

photo of four winners with Erin Stocker, HR Director

The Morrow County School District honored four Crystal Apple “Excellence in Education” winners on Monday, May 14. Each year, the InterMountain ESD organizes these awards for its component school districts to recognize outstanding administrators, teachers, educational assistants and office and building staff for their dedication and commitment to students and for their willingness to go above and beyond their regular duties.

Nominations are submitted over a two-month period by administrators, coworkers, parents, students and community members. Winners are selected from these nominations by school district administration.

A total of 44 individuals were honored in May in Morrow, Umatilla and Union county school districts. The 2018 events mark the 19th annual Crystal Apple Awards for Umatilla and Morrow counties and the 7th annual for Union County.

The 2018 Crystal Apple Winners for MCSD are:
Tracie Bunch (Department Secretary, Heppner Jr/Sr High School)
Tracie has worked for the district for 14 years. She goes above and beyond to support students, connecting with them and letting teachers and administrators know which ones may need extra help. Tracie helps arrange services for students, always striving to make a difference in her caring way. Her nominator describes her as, “Tracie is the type of person who does not come to work so much as she shows up to help, finds ways to make a difference and does all of this without every taking credit.”

Sarah Christy (1st Grade Teacher, Sam Boardman Elementary School)
Sarah has worked 12 years for the district. Always willing to help other teachers, Sarah is always updating her skills and implementing the newest teaching techniques. She creates a caring environment that students really love and in which they thrive and achieve success. Sarah is a joy to work with!

Betsy Shane (Math Teacher, Riverside Jr/Sr High School)
Betsy Shane has worked for the Morrow County School District for 18 years. She is the coordinator of the Oregon Gear Up program for the district and is adept at encouraging and supporting fellow staff members. Betsy is dedicated to making extra time to work with students and researches and locates opportunities for students to explore real-life learning experiences outside the school building. All Betsy’s hard work is greatly appreciated at Riverside!

Amy Stringer (Counselor, A.C. Houghton/Irrigon Elementary Schools)
Amy Stringer has worked in the district for four years. Amy is a critical part of the decision-making team that provides student support. This school year, Amy has gone the extra mile to provide Boardman schools with risk assessments and counseling. She is skilled at prioritizing and helping colleagues whenever needed. Amy brings an extremely calming voice to emotional or stressful situations.

“We congratulate each of our district’s Crystal Apple winners this year. These staff members are so deserving of this honor, and we are pleased to celebrate the exemplary job they are doing to make a difference every day for students,” said Dirk Dirksen, Superintendent of the Morrow County School District.

Photo caption: From left are Tracie Bunch, Sarah Christy, Erin Stocker (Executive Director of HR), Betsy Shane and Amy Stringer.

More information about the Crystal Apple Awards is available on the IMESD website at

Release Date