District Re-Structures Administration for 2017-18 School Year

Photo: office desk and chair

The Morrow County School District has re-structured its administrative team, allowing the district to continue to be proactive and efficient in providing the highest quality education for all its students, according to Dirk Dirksen, district Superintendent.

Erin Stocker has been promoted to Executive Director of Human Resources. She will continue to be the Principal at Irrigon Elementary School for the 2017-18 school year while assuming additional district-level responsibilities. Stocker has taught for 13 years in the district and been the Principal and the Director of Human Resources for four years. Kaira Rysdam will be the Vice Principal at Irrigon Elementary.

Marie Shimer has been hired as the Director of Educational Services. She has been the Principal at Riverside Jr/Sr High School since 2013; before that, she was the Assistant Principal there for two years.  Shimer has an extensive background in curriculum and staff development and has worked with special programs including TAG, ELL, DART, Eastern Promise and CTE. The district is posting a position for the RHS Principal vacancy.

Matt Combe will remain the Director of Facilities for the district. Currently the Principal at Heppner Elementary and Heppner Jr/Sr High School, Combe has been an administrator for 11 years in Heppner. Previously, he was the Alternative Education Coordinator for eight years and taught for three years. Combe will continue as the Principal of Heppner High, while Dieter Waite will become the Principal of Heppner Elementary School.

Jack Johns will become the district’s Director of Special Education, a change from his current position of Special Education Consultant. Johns has more than 20 years of experience as a Special Education Director and has been a Special Education consultant for nine years, including the last three in MCSD.

“We are pleased with the new structure of our district administrative team – all of these individuals will continue to be important assets in serving students in all three of our communities,” Dirksen said.

All changes will be effective July 1, 2017.

Release Date